Submissions: 0th Issue

***Submissions are currently CLOSED****

The Strange Edge is seeking submissions (for its 0th issue, ebook only debut) of absurd, surreal, irreal, psychedelic, Bizarro and/or weirdo fiction and prose-poetry in the vein of Donald Barthelme, Franz Kafka, Lewis Carroll, William S. Burroughs, Daniil Kharms, Eugene Ionesco, Russell Edson, Leonora Carrington, David Firth, Monty Python, PFFR, Charlie Kaufman, Terry Gilliam, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Quentin Dupieux, Jan Švankmajer, Guy Maddin, Jean-Pierre Jeunet… Get the vibe? (*Longer list of influences collected below)

Also seeking :
Borges-style reviews of books, movies, games or albums that do not actually exist. The idea here is that some experimental concepts are really great to read ABOUT but not so much fun to actually read/watch/play/listen to. So if you have a way-out idea for a work of art that you’d like to tell the world about without ever having to create it, write the review and pretend someone else did it. 500-1000 word reviews will be considered.  Query with concept first.

Advice articles for post-modern or surreal living. Think Cosmopolitan or GQ in a dimension that only exists in a Dali painting. 500-1000 word range. Query with concept first.

Not particularly seeking: Gonzo, pulp, extreme, exploitation, gross-out, or trash lit. Not looking for Literary realism (this should go without saying). Not looking for core genre works, but perhaps I may be interested in fantasy along the lines of Link or Dunsany or Ings; horror along the lines of Ligotti or Evenson;  sci-fi along the lines of Dick.

Length requirements: Seeking flash fiction/prose-poetry  up to 2000 words, short fiction 2001-5000 words, reviews  500-1000 words. Query if you have something outside these parameters.

Payment: For the 0th issue I’m looking for non-exclusive electronic publishing rights only (and rights to use for promotion online). Token payments of 10 bucks for flash, 15 for works up to 3500 words. 20 for works over 3500. Paid via paypal no later than 30 days after publication.

How to submit: Email me at strangeedgemagazine AT gmail DOT com. Title your email “SUBMISSION – title of submission – author’s name.” Attach the file as either a .doc, .docx, or .rtf file. Include in the body of your email a brief “cover letter” telling me what you are submitting, how long it is, and one or two sentences describing what it is about. Also include a one paragraph bio that will be published in the magazine along with your work if accepted.

Deadline: Sept. 1st unless you have a note from your doctor. You should hear back about your submission fairly quickly. Email me a reminder if I haven’t gotten back to you by Oct. 1st.

 

The Strange Edge

 

*Donald Barthelme, Franz Kafka, Lewis Carroll, Daniil Kharms, William S. Burroughs, Paul Bowles, Albert Camus, Italo Calvino, Mikhail Bulgakov, Russell Edson, Juan Rulfo, Norton Juster, Roald Dahl, Etgar Keret, Leonora Carrington, Remedios Varo, Salvador Dali, Man Ray, Max Ernst, Eugene Ionesco, Samuel Beckett, David Firth, Thu Tran, Monty Python, PFFR, Ault Swim, Liquid Television, The Mighty Boosh, Stella, Charlie Kaufman, Bryan Fuller, Terry Gilliam, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Quentin Dupieux, Jan Švankmajer, Cory McAbee, Guy Maddin, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Todd Rohal, Jared & Jerusha Hess, Veit Helmer, Luis Buñuel, Jared & Brandon Drake, Quay Brothers, The Residents, Guided by Voices, Tom Waits, Fantomas, Syd Barrett, Z Rock Hawaii, Faxed Head.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s